30 Government Primary Schools Brought Under English Medium Education

English Medium

English medium classes have been introduced in 30 government higher primary schools in Dakshina Kannada for the new academic year, with Bantwal block receiving the largest share. The state government has approved 1,419 schools statewide to offer bilingual education in English and Kannada, including the 30 schools in Dakshina Kannada.

Mathematics and English will be taught according to the NCERT syllabus, while environmental studies and Kannada will follow the Karnataka Textbook Association’s curriculum. Teachers will receive handbooks, study and teaching materials, and e-lessons from the English Language Training Organization and the Azeem Premji Foundation.

Bantwal block has the highest allocation with 13 schools selected. Mangaluru North has six schools, Mangaluru South four, Sullia four, Puttur two, and Beltangady one. DDPI Venkatesha Patagar expressed optimism about the scheme’s reception in rural areas, noting that government primary schools in the district typically see high admissions each year.

Patagar stated, “English medium lessons are already being conducted in 82 schools in the district, and they have received a positive response. Last year, 2,834 students enrolled. Current educators will teach Kannada and English at the 30 recently approved schools. There is no entrance requirement, and teachers have received training through DIET. The admission process is currently ongoing.”

A teacher observed that in schools offering both English and Kannada mediums, students tend to prefer the English medium, with only a handful opting for Kannada.

In Bantwal block, the selected schools include Government Higher Primary School (GHPS) Moodupadukodi, GHP Model School Okkettur, GHP Model School Kadeshwala, GHPS Shamboor, GHP Model School Mani, GHPS Kavalakatte (Urdu), GHPS Kodange, GHP Model School Thumbay, GHPS Brahmarakootlu, GHPS Mithoor, GHPS Moolarapatna (Urdu), and GHPS Nalkemar. The school GHPS Kashipatna has been chosen for the Beltangady block. The selected schools in Mangaluru North block include GHPS Kenjaru, GHPS Karnire, GHPS Sandspit, GHPS Manampady, and GHP Model School Marakada. In Mangaluru South block, GHPS Rajagudde, GHPS New Padpu, GHPS Keenya, and GHPS Urumane have been selected.GHPS Kodimbadi and GHPS Samethadka are chosen for the Puttur block. Government Model Higher Primary School Panja, Government Model Higher Primary School Arantodu, GHPS Devachalla, and GHPS Ajjavara are the schools chosen for Sullia block.

682 students enrolled in English-medium classes in 15 Bantwal Block schools, 558 in 21 Beltangady schools, 261 in nine Mangaluru North schools, 505 in sixteen Mangaluru South schools, 193 in five Moodbidri schools, 443 in twelve Puttur schools, and 192 in four Sullia schools during the 2023–2024 academic year. There are 2,834 students registered in English-medium lessons in the district’s 82 government schools.

Read More: https://educationviewindia.com/

Top stories